Starting your project with a super-mirco-mini IT budget. Can it work?

A few months agao I wrote up a series of thoughts (and here, here, and here) about tools that you really shouldn’t wait on when you started up a new project. I totally stand by them.

Today I had a really great conversation with a proven IT/web heavyweight and he’s starting up an IT project with as close to a non-existant IT budget as I’ve ever heard. Their codebase is Python (lots of Django love), so it’s living in Google Project’s realm. Most of their other services (CI is what we primarily talked about) was running on Heroku (http://www.heroku.com/), which at the levels they currently need, is free.

So they’re pretty effectively leveraging IaaS and PaaS offerings at the low, free levels to get their company started. But are they really saving money or are they just deferring the cost with interest like all of our student loans?

With the math I’ve done in the past and recently, IaaS and PaaS are most cost-effective for high-intensity, low-duration operations. At 5AM one of the biggest uses we’ve found for AWS is processing large chunks of scientific data. When you’re dealing with a service you want up 24/7/36[5-6], unless it’s AWFULLY lightweight, it doesn’t end up being a cost-effective candidate for pushing to you “cloud” provider.  I think there are still a few years of truth in these statements. Eventually it will become too cheap to not do it, but that’s a little ways off, still. A company still needs its “40 Acres” somewhere.

So what about these guys? I’m entering into a little bit of speculation here, as I’ve never used Heroku, and I’ve only lightly used Google Project, but both of these are pretty highly customized environments. It would seem to me that the longer you live exclusively in these environments the more your code will become dependent on the idiosyncracies of these environments. I don’t think these environments are bad or undesirable.  I’m just saying that I think they will diverge from a “vanilla” build by their very nature, and bringing an application back from one of these environments to run on bare-metal or a “regular” virtual machine will be increasingly difficult.

So, provided that cost exists, the longer you defer the cost, the higher it will be.  Is it worth it? I don’t know.

If someone has experience either way, I’d love to hear about it. I know I’m going to continue thinking about it…

2 thoughts on “Starting your project with a super-mirco-mini IT budget. Can it work?

  1. We didn’t get down to Dollars and budgets, but it’s a well-funded startup with the beginnings of an exec board, office space, and 4 or more developers.

Something to Add?

