Why I still use Fedora after 8 years

fedora-linux-logo

This post showed up on my Twitter feed recently, and I felt compelled to talk about it (outside of it’s horrible grammar, but I’m not sure if it’s a translated document or not). It picks out 12 Linux distributions, calls them the ‘top 12’, and then says little to nothing about how or why they are different. It’s review of Fedora (which it ranked at #3):

Fedora: If you want an advanced version of Linux, go for Fedora. Even those, looking for pure take on GNOME 3, opt for Fedora.

Huh? You can install Gnome 3 on any ‘upstream’ Linux Distribution. That’s sorta’ what makes Linux… you know… Linux.

I’m paid to be an ‘expert’ on Red Hat Enterprise Linux, so I’d have to charge for that milkshake. But I’ve been using Fedora since way way back when, with virtually no deviation. So I thought I’ve decided to try and give my own personal logic for using Fedora as my daily work operating system.

  • I trust the community will be there next week – The world is littered with dead and dying Linux distros. I don’t want to find a bug or run into a brain-cramping issue with my primary workstation only to see an empty IRC channel and no activity on the support mailing list.  Fedora is the upstream testbed for Red Hat Enterprise Linux. I trust that company with my retirement plan, so I feel OK trusting their upstream community with issues when I can’t figure them out*
  • It’s pretty edgy – Fedora runs pretty close to the latest available for most everything. Their latest production kernel is 3.12.6-300, and the latest stable from kernel.org is 3.12.7. Certainly not the only distro that does, this, but I like that it’s among them.
  • The community walks the walk – Everything the Fedora community does is open. The community keeps it all in a myriad collection of ticketing systems and wikis. It’s not always the easiest stuff in the world to find, but it’s all out there in the open. You can’t say that about all of the other large upstream distros. I like it enough that I am a (very inactive) Fedora Ambassador.
  • It’s Easy – The distribution’s tools work well (within reason). I went from Fedora 14 through Fedora 18 before deciding to reformat the filesystem before upgrading to Fedora 19. This past week I used the included fedup tool to upgrade to Fedora 20. The process was totally seamless.  The only thing I lost was the orientation setting on the one monitor I keep vertical on my laptop docking station. I still believe that you have to WANT to use Linux as your everyday workstation. If you do, then it can be a 100% replacement. And if you do, Fedora makes it about as easy and as powerful as it can be.

* – believe it or not, I have almost 0% special insight into the wide world of Fedora from my job at Red Hat.😦

2 thoughts on “Why I still use Fedora after 8 years

  1. What does it provide over Debian, though (other than a package manager somehow worse than APT, an incredible feat)?

Something to Add?

