Atomic Host and Kubernetes Clusters Made Easy(ish)

Recently I got to go out to visit a customer and talk about containers. Even though I call containers parlor tricks, it (seriously) is one of my favorite things to do. They had some questions about container performance tuning as well as how to run an internal registry.

So I came up with a ~2 hour workshop to have with them. I put it out on GitHub so they could access the code afterward if they wanted. I had a few realizations while I was putting this together.

  1. Atomic Host is getting really easy to configure. Back in the 7.0 days you really had to be double-jointed to configure a kubernetes cluster. In 7.2, you edit 3 files per cluster member (master or node). The total lines edited is around 8. That doesn’t include flannel or your SDN solution of choice.
  2. NFS as persistent storage for a multi-node replication controller for docker-registry is way harder than it should be. There are several bugs out there (Red Hat as well as upstream) that show issues when you have a multi-container docker-registry rc and have it use NFS to store the registry data.Once I thought this through it made sense. NFS (especially NFSv4) uses client-side caching to make writes more efficient. Since both pods are in play for these writes, the confirmation in the registry code barfs all over itself when container A looks for data that is still in the NFS write cache inside container B.

    There are work-arounds with the NFS server settings as well as the k8s service definition to tweak the kubernetes scheduler. It works for demos, but I would have mountains of fear trying this for a production environment.

  3. OMG ANSIBLE IS AWESOME. I hadn’t really had a chance to use ansible to solve a problem. So I used this project to start to get used to the technology a little. I watched some videos where the ansible folks said it had become the defacto language to define an infrastructure. I totally see that now. I can’t wait to learn more about it.I included the ansbile playbook as well as all of the templates in the github repo along with the asciidoc for the workshop itself. I intentionally kept it simple, so people who hadn’t used it before could see what work was happening and where it was coming from. I can’t wait to need to get deeper into ansible.

 

Something to Add?

